"It was a striking place with secrets." -- Ernest Schwiebert

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "It was a striking place with secrets." -- Ernest Schwiebert

This is a MUST READ for anyone interested in the NINE MILE HOLE potential solve. Contains tantalizing details about the potential search area.

Rivers are not static. They change, sometimes dramatically, over the years. This can transform, or even eliminate, once prosperous fishing holes.

Today, Nine Mile Hole is a legend, rather than a great fishing spot. To appreciate what it was decades ago, you have to hear the words (and passion) of an expert.

Ernest Schwiebert (1931-2005) was an architect by profession, who became a renowned angler and angling author. He wrote extensively about fly fishing for trout and salmon. Interestingly, he also served in the Air Force.

The following excerpt about Nine Mile Hole is from one of his voluminous books, which I don't believe many in the chase would have ever gotten very deep into.

I hope you enjoy reading it, as I did.

"But the entire Yellowstone was ravaged by a series of wildfires in the drought of 1992..."

"Gullies were quickly cut into unstable hillsides, and large alluvial fans of gritty clay and ash were formed at many places along the Madison, Gibbon, and Firehole. Such fans were visible immediately below Seven Mile Bridge on the Madison, and there was much worse damage at its famous Nine-Mile Hole, which had been the most popular pool.